[PCT on the Road] Great Eight

Features - Industry Events

In October, PCT and Syngenta honored eight industry professionals with the Crown Leadership Award.

December 28, 2012
PCT Magazine

PCT and Syngenta recognized the 2012 Crown Leadership Award winners at NPMA PestWorld during a special ceremony in October.

The awards spotlight individuals who have contributed positively to the growth and development of the structural pest control industry, and have established ties with fellow business leaders, civic groups and customers in their local communities.

“For the 24th consecutive year, Syngenta is proud to partner with Pest Control Technology to recognize professionals who have worked hard and grown their businesses and have devoted significant time and attention to their commitment and leadership to the industry,” said Scott Reasons, who manages Syngenta’s professional pest management business. “These eight winners are passionate and driven industry professionals, and have made significant contributions to their field. We are honored to stand alongside these leaders and work with them to keep our industry strong and effective.”

This year’s winners are:

  • Chris Gorecki, Rollins, Inc., Atlanta, Ga.
  • Bobby Hammel (retired), J.C. Ehrlich, Reading, Pa.
  • Harold Harlan, Armed Forces Pest Management Board, Silver Spring, Md.
  • Ray Johnson, Johnson Pest Control, Sevierville, Tenn.
  • Susan Jones, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • Tony Massey, Massey Services, Orlando, Fla.
  • Jim Sargent, Copesan Services, Menomonee Falls, Wis.
  • Garry Tank, Buffalo Exterminating, Orchard Park, N.Y.

This year’s honorees were profiled in a special supplement that was part of the October issue of PCT.

Next year marks the 25th anniversary of the Crown Leadership Awards. To nominate a colleague, please fill out the form at http://bit.ly/Leadership2013.

Left: The Crown Leadership Class of 2012, left to right: Harold Harlan, Bobby Hammel, Tony Massey, Chris Gorecki, Susan Jones, Ray Johnson, Jim Sargent and Garry Tank. Top right: Members of the Crown Leadership Class of 2012 chatting before this year’s ceremony, left to right: Ray Johnson, Jim Sargent, Garry Tank, Harold Harlan and Tony Massey. Bottom right: Bobby Hammel accepts his award. Hammel’s brother, Victor Hammel, was an inductee to the Crown Leadership Awards Class of 2002.


Top left: PCT Publisher Dan Moreland applauds as Jim Sargent makes his way to the podium. Top middle: Syngenta’s Scott Reasons addresses attendees during the Crown Leadership Awards ceremony. Top right: Class of 2012 winner Harold Harlan accepts his award.
Bottom left: Class of 2012 winner Dr. Susan Jones (left) of The Ohio State University and her former Ph.D. student, Nicky Gallagher, a Syngenta PPM technical representative. Bottom right: More than 250 pest management professionals and their families attended this year’s Crown Leadership Awards ceremony in Boston.


Left: PCT Publisher Dan Moreland presents Rollins’ Chris Gorecki with his 2012 Crown Leadership Award. Middle: Class of 1997 Crown Leadership Award winner Lonnie Alonso congratulates this year’s inductee Garry Tank. Right: Class of 2012 winner Ray Johnson is immediate past president of NPMA.


To view additional photos from the reception visit the Online Extras section on the PCT Online homepage.