Fantastic 5

Features - PCT on the Road

PCT and Syngenta recognized the 2018 Crown Leadership Award winners at NPMA PestWorld.

December 11, 2018

The Crown Leadership Class of 2018, left to right: Dave Fisher, Karl Kisner, Dr. Faith Oi, Dan Collins and Jerry Gahlhoff.

Photography provided by Christie’s Photography

At PestWorld 2018 in Orlando, Fla., PCT and Syngenta took time to recognize five individuals chosen as 2018 Crown Leadership Award winners, during a special reception.

Honored this year were:

  • Dave Fisher, Rentokil Steritech, Reading, Pa.
  • Jerry Gahlhoff, Rollins Inc., Atlanta, Ga.
  • Karl Kisner, Univar Environmental Sciences, Austin, Texas
  • Dan Collins, Collins Pest Management, Evansville, Ind.
  • Dr. Faith Oi, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.

This year is the 30th anniversary of the awards program, which has honored more than 250 industry professionals since its inception.

The 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Austin Frishman.
Pat Willenbrock, head of marketing for Professional Pest Management at Syngenta, welcomes attendees to the event.
Richard Whitman, a member of the 1999 Crown Leadership class, with his wife Linda.
Left to right: Rollins’ Tom Walters, Chris Gorecki and John Wilson, all of whom are past Crown Leadership Award winners, were in attendance at this year’s event.

It’s been 30 years since PCT and Syngenta began recognizing individuals who have contributed positively to the growth and development of the structural pest control industry, and I believe this year’s class carries on the tradition of that inaugural class, as well as subsequent classes,” said PCT Publisher Dan Moreland.

“Tonight, we’re going to honor a new class of deserving winners and their important accomplishments in our industry,” said Pat Willenbrock, head of marketing for Professional Pest Management at Syngenta. “A lot has changed in pest management over the last 30 years. Old techniques have made way for newer strategies; digital tools are changing the way we look at business operations; and new invasive pest species have required unique solutions.

“Thankfully, the dedication of our industry professionals, including yourselves, has been unwavering, and tonight’s winners inspire us all to improve pest control around the world,” she said. “Since 1989, the Crown Leadership Awards have been presented annually to pest management professionals, university educators, industry distributors and association officials who uphold the highest standards of industry ethics, while contributing their time and talent to a broad range of professional and civic organizations.”

In addition to recognizing this year’s winners, PCT and Syngenta once again presented a “Lifetime Achievement Award” to a past Crown Leadership winner, as voted on by previous Crown Leadership Award winners. This year’s winner was Dr. Austin Frishman, a longtime industry consultant, educator and mentor to numerous pest management professionals.

If you know of a member of the pest control industry you would like to nominate for next year’s awards, email Dan Moreland at