Registration Open for March ICUP Webinar

Registration Open for March ICUP Webinar

The very first free-of-charge International Conference on Urban Pests (ICUP) takes place on March 9.

Subscribe
February 18, 2021

Registration is now open for the very first free-of-charge International Conference on Urban Pests (ICUP), to be held online on March 9. 
 

To accommodate as many delegates as possible from different time zones around the world, the webinar will run at 10 a.m. (EST); 7 a.m. (PST) and 3 p.m. (GMT). It will last for up to three hours maximum and will consist of five carefully selected presentations, covering a variety of urban pest problems, from leading urban research scientists. 

Those interested in attending are encouraged to register as soon as possible from the ICUP website at www.icup.org.uk/webinar.

Topics to be presented include: household arthropods and their bacterial communities; fertility of Norway rats in Barcelona; the control of yellowjackets in urban areas; the impact of climate change on urban pest distribution; the use of CRISPR gene drive tools for pest population engineering; and more. Details of the programme and speakers, which include Victor Lopez Del Amo (University of California, San Diego, USA) and Michael Rust (University of California, Riverside, USA) are detailed on the ICUP website at www.icup.org.uk/webinar

 
Dr Ruben Bueno from Laboratorios Lokímica, Spain will act as moderator and delegates will be able to pose questions via the Zoom ‘chat’ facility. If unable to attend, or to listen to the talks again, they will all be available from the ICUP website until April 6, 2021.
 
Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic prevented the ICUP Executive Committee from holding its usual face-to-face conference which was originally scheduled for July 2020. However, in the spirit of the ICUP, and its mission to share scientific information on urban pests, this first free-of-charge webinar has been organized.