PCO News

Departments - PCO News

Please send press releases about your firm to jdorsch@giemedia.com.

June 13, 2022

Thrasher Termite & Pest Control, San Diego, Calif., is the first company in California to earn QualityPro’s certification in public health. QualityPro worked with an 11-person task force to develop the QualityPro Public Health service certification standards and establish a formal process for earning and keeping the credentials. The task force included representatives from the National Pest Management Association, the National Environmental Health Association, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Entomological Society of America, in addition to participants from vector control, universities and pest management companies.

Modern Exterminating, Columbia, S.C., received the Small Business of the Year Award from the Columbia Chamber of Commerce as part of its annual Columbia Impact Awards. The award recognizes a Columbia Chamber partner that has shown great growth, significant achievements, or realized economic and cultural growth that benefits the business community.

Bug Out, a Rentokil brand, announced a transition to the Active Pest Control brand throughout parts of the Georgia market.

Modern Pest Services, Brunswick, Maine, acquired Advantage Pest Control, South Portland, Maine. Richard Varney, Advantage owner, said, “Our mission was simple: provide excellent service, be friendly to our clients and have highly trained technicians. As I looked at the future of the business, I felt aligning with a company like Modern was an excellent opportunity for both my employees and clients to benefit from.”

From left to right: Greg Lancaster (service technician), Alan Farmer (owner/operator) and Terry Lowery (service technician).

Farmers Pest Control, Helena, Ala., was selected as the Best Pest Control Company in Shelby County for 2022 in Shelby Living Magazine’s annual Best of the Best contest. In other news, the firm announced Matthew Bell as the winner of this year’s $1,000 Future Business Leader Scholarship.